What happens in Drive without Powertools


When someone deletes a file or folder, there are many possibilities. Here are the main use cases:

  • If the user is the owner of the file, the file is moved to the user's trash. Whenever the user empties their trash, the file is irremediably lost. 
  • If the user is not the owner of the file, the file is not trashed but only removed from the folder. The file becomes "orphan". It does not appear anywhere in Drive anymore and can only be found through Google Drive's search. 



What happens with Powertools


In Powertools for Google Drive, all Workspaces have their dedicated trash folder. Whenever a user deletes a file or folder, Powertools captures this file and moves it to its dedicated trash. This offers multiple advantages:

  • This process is transparent to the users who simply see that they have deleted the files, 
  • Deleted files are kept for an unlimited period of time,
  • Deleted files remain accessible and restorable for Workspace Managers,
  • Deleted file are not accounted for in Powertools documents quota.


Restoring a deleted file or folder


To restore a file or folder that has been archived

  • With a Workspace Manager, go in Powertools' back office,
  • Go in the "Manage Documents / Folders" section, and the "Deleted Documents" sub-section,
  • Select the workspace you want to restore documents in,
  • And click on the "Restore" icon.




Permanently deleting a deleted file or folder


To permanently delete a file or folder that has been deleted

  • With a Workspace Manager, go in Powertools' back office,
  • Go in the "Manage Documents / Folders" section, and the "Deleted Documents" sub-section,
  • Select the workspace you want to delete documents from,
  • And click on the "Delete" icon.