Managers who wish to view, edit or create workflows need to access the application back office. To do so, they can go in “Settings / Reporting” in the top right toolbar, or they can use the direct link.


In the back office, there is a menu dedicated to workflows with three options:

  • Create a new workflow: a shortcut to the workflow creation.

  • Workflows list: the list of existing workflows.

  • Workflows monitoring: the list of running instances and linked monitoring actions. This option is available for the administrator only.



Create a new workflow

The new workflow creation process starts with the template selection page.


 

This page allows managers to pick an existing template to start from. 


Note: in the foundation plan, only the single, two and three steps approval are available to start a workflow from. It is only possible to start a workflow from scratch and to use the full list of templates when on the business plan.


After selecting a template, the next step is to define the details about the workflow.

 

 

 

The required details are:

  • The workflow name.

  • The description of the workflow.

  • The workflow type is predefined based on the selected template. Three types of workflow exist:

    • Workflows applicable to a File Type only:
      Those workflows are startable only on a specific File Type and allow to use or edit the files' metadata within the workflow.

    • Workflows applicable to any file:
      Those workflows are startable on any type of file but do not give access to files metadata. This is the only type of workflow usable for now.

    • Workflows that do not require any file:
      Those workflows run on their own and are startable from the workflow dashboard.

  • The workflow scope. This defines on which files and in which workspaces the workflow will be startable. The scope requires to select the potential list of File Types to which the workflow is applicable - if “Any” is selected, the workflow will be applicable even on files with no File Types - but also a potential list of workspaces in which it is applicable.


Click "Save".



Workflow Edition Page

After creating your workflow, or when editing an existing workflow, managers access the workflow edition page. 

 

 

This page contains three tabs:

 

  • Info:
    Contains the list of details provided during the initial step of the workflow creation and allow to edit some of those details.
    The activation setting is also on this page. A workflow that is active is a workflow that can be used within Google Drive.
    To activate a workflow, a version needs to have been deployed and made “live”.

  • Versions:
    Contains the list of versions deployed for this workflow, as well as the option to make a specific version live.
    The version “live” is the version that is made available in the front office for the end users.
    This is also where managers will be able to test their workflow using the simulator.


  • Modeler:
    The graphical workflow editor. Details on the modeler and how to use it are available here.