First, create your first approval workflow using once of the existing template. Follow the steps described here.

After creating your first workflow, you will need to configure it. Here are the steps to follow:



1 - Check the workflow scope


When creating your workflow, you have been requested to provide a scope. This defines on which files your workflow will be applicable. You can restrict a workflow scope to a specific list of workspaces, and to a specific list of File Types.


You can check and edit the scope of your workflow in the "Info" tab.



For instance, if you want a workflow to be applicable only to contract document that are located in the "Contract Management" workspace, you should select the File Type "Contract" and the workspace "Contract Management".


Note that if you do not restrict the scope to specific File Types and select "Any", the workflow will also be applicable to files that do not have a File Type. 



2 - Define who can start the workflow


On top of restricting on which files your workflow can be started, you can also restrict it to a specific set of users and groups.

To do so, go to the "Modeler" tab and select the start event "Send for Approval" by clicking on it.




In the configuration panel on the right side appear the parameters to configure the start event. From there, you can define:

  • Label: the label of the event. This label is only visible in the modeler and will not affect end users.
  • Candidates: the users which will be able to start a new workflow instance on the files within the scope of the workflow.
    • All Readers: if checked, all users with "Reader" permissions on the files will be able to start it.
    • All Writers: if checked, all users with "Writer" permissions on the files will be able to start it.
      Warning: checking "All Readers" but leaving "All Writers" unchecked will result in readers only being able to start the workflow.
    • Users: the list of specific users who will be able to start the workflow.
    • Groups: the list of specific groups for which members will be able to start the workflow.

The different options are non-exclusive. Meaning that you could set a workflow so that all writers can start it, but also add a specific list of users and groups who will be able to start it independently of their permissions rights.


3 - Add permissions to the approvers


Once you have defined who is allowed to start the workflow, the next step consists in granting access to the file to the actors who will need to approve it. To do so, select the "Add approvers permissions" task.



You can grant access to multiple users and groups at once and define the level of access they should have. Note that if you do not grant users access to the file at this task, they might get the approval tasks assigned to them but not be able to open the file.


4 - Configure the approval task(s)


The next step consists in configuring the approval tasks of your workflow. Depending on the template you selected when creating your workflow, you might have multiple approval tasks to configure.


Select the approval task you wish to configure.


In the configuration panel on the right side appear the parameters to configure the approval task. From there, you can define:

  • Label: the label of the task. This is the name users will see when the task is assigned to them.
  • Candidates: the users to which the task will be assigned and which will be required to take action. You can assign the task to multiple users, but only one of them needs to take action on the task for it to be completed.
    • All Readers: if checked, all users with "Reader" permissions on the file will be assigned the task.
    • All Writers: if checked, all users with "Writer" permissions on the file will be assigned the task.
      Warning: checking "All Readers" but leaving "All Writers" unchecked will result in readers only being assigned the task.
    • Users: the list of specific users the task will be assigned to.
    • Groups: the list of specific groups for which the task will be assigned to their members.

The different options are non-exclusive. Meaning that you could set a task so that it is assigned to all writers, but also add a specific list of users and groups it will be assigned to independently of their permissions rights.



5 - Save the version and deploy the workflow


Once candidate users have been assigned to the start event and to all approval tasks, hit the "SAVE VERSION" button.



Enter a description of the current version, check "Make this version live and activate it in Google Drive", and click save.


Congratulations, your workflow is now live in Google Drive and can be started by your end users!